crown

the world hasn’t broken me in the way it broke you
but if you take a close look at the skin under my eyes
you’ll see, they are darkened
from all the sleepless nights
and if you look at my wrists, you’ll see
remnants of self hatred
my shoulders are crooked from carrying
the worries of my family and friends
my back, bruised from all the feet
i’ve allowed to tread on me
my mind has been twisted and turned
from the venomous words
of pre-pubescent boys
thirsty for tears
you see, really
i’m just as broken as you
but i will not let the world beat me down

i will wear my scars like paint
and my hardships upon my head
like a crown

 

Leave a Reply

